International

A Filipino’s Sorrows from Abroad

With his eyes puffy and red from crying, Ryan Chua glanced up in preparation for his interview, ready to spill his heart about his country in turmoil, Philippines.

It has been two weeks since Typhoon Haiyan hit the Philippines, taking an estimated 10,000 citizens, one-third of which are children.

Aid from international countries, including the U.S. and the UK, is slowly trickling into the country, making its way to the most hard hit parts.

For Ryan, this week has been filled with sleepless nights, where he sits up watching broadcast coverage of his homeland.

“Some days I just sit here crying in my room,” Ryan said. “I hate feeling comfortable, it is uncomfortable to feel so comfortable here.”

Ryan is a Chevening Scholar working on his MA at City University London within the field of international journalism. Being an international journalist is also one of the difficulties he is over coming while studying in London.

“I feel like I need to do something, and the journalists in me tells me that, ‘Hey, you should be there and doing your job,’” Ryan said.

Ryan has been in contact with his mom back at home and fortunately enough all of his family is safe. But he still feels for those who lost their lives.

“Even if those who died aren’t related to me, I really feel for them. It is seeing your countrymen suffer like this and I am far away; it still breaks my heart.”

With more than 100,000 followers on Twitter, Ryan has been communicating whatever he can to show his countrymen what is being done here in the UK and also around the world in efforts to help those back home.

“I’ve started to do whatever I could; I want to do my part. As a journalist, I’ve been contributing stories for free to my network back home,” Ryan said. “I’m trying to show my fellow countrymen, that although there are Filipinos here, far away, we are trying to do our part and make a difference.”

Video Produced by Katherine Iorio

Leave a Reply

