Sports

Hello, Sports World! Where Have you Been?

I would be lying if I said I follow sports. I am honestly really into hockey, and only because I am a big Blackhawks fan; my second cousin is Patrick Sharp. But while I sit here pondering what sports I truly like, I come up a wee bit short.

English: Patrick Sharp of the Chicago Blackhaw...

English: Patrick Sharp of the Chicago Blackhawks takes practice shots before a game against the Vancouver Canucks. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I did ballet when I was in 3rd grade. I hated it! I then went directly into playing soccer. I was MVP of my sophomore soccer team in high school. That’s not saying much since it wasn’t varsity. I also did track and field; I threw shot put and discus. This warded off any male attraction to me whatsoever. I had to stop that sport specifically for that reason.

I then saw myself getting into rugby or roller derby; you can probably see a violent streak in me. But in reality, I just love playing rough. I never had the time to get into those two sports and I didn’t have the space on my body to have the bruises and/or cuts.

English: Roller Derby game between the Cherry ...

English: Roller Derby game between the Cherry Bombs (Green) vs Rhinestone Cowgirls (Red) on Aug 27, 2011, in Austin, Texas. The Rhinestone Cowgirls won this hard fought game in overtime. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This brings me back to today. I never cared for watching basketball, baseball or football while growing up. Those sports are what drew me closer to the male side of my family. But as time went on, my attachment to my male side of the family diminished. In a lot of ways, I lost interest in sports because of my family.

Now that I am taking this Advanced Sports Reporting class, I have the determination to get back into sports. Covering topics like crime in sports, sponsorship, girlfriends/spouses and even Columbia College Chicago’s sports teams will be an interesting change from politics, news and international reporting.

official seal of Columbia College Chicago

official seal of Columbia College Chicago (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Within the next three months, you’ll be reading more about sports and my opinion on them. I will have my view on subjects within the sports realm that differ from others, but at the end of the day, sports bring people together and that’s what I’m hoping for on here; on my blog.

Leave a Reply

