Ireland

Hello Ireland

English: Grafton Street, Dublin, Ireland Franç...

Grafton Street in Downtown Dublin

While much of the rest of my class is flying into Dublin this evening, myself and a fellow student have already been laying about in our hotel rooms in Dublin. Having some spare time to think about what I expect out of this trip, I must be frank and say I really don’t know.

Of course this is an educational experience and I will hopefully leave Ireland with a potential byline for an American publication, I honestly do not know what to expect from Ireland itself. While peering out my taxi cab window, one would assume Ireland, more specifically Dublin, is a touristy type of city.

With the restaurants and pubs located roughly every two feet, there is little time to feel hungry or thirsty while in Dublin. The atmosphere of the city too brought a smile to my face thinking that I would find myself with no time questioning what to do with myself.

Although I have only been in Dublin for roughly two hours, I feel that there is a sense of excitement in me wanting to burst through the hotel doors and make my way into the Irish life scene unfolding below me downstairs.

English: Tample Bar picture taken by me at the...

Tample Bar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While I know this can’t happen since it will be an early morning tomorrow and long day of walking through the city, I anticipate my nerves will be bust straight out of me wanting to divulge myself in the rich historical background and culture Ireland has to offer.

The next ten days will offer me a new insight into a culture that has been discussed quite frequently in America. Yet Ireland has a context of being an alcoholic nation that strives on its beer breweries, there is a larger context to what Ireland has to offer those who come to visit.

This, in short, is what I believe can be rewarded to me through this experience while in Ireland. Cultural and historical background awaits me tomorrow and it certainly cannot come sooner. My adventures await me and I cannot wait to share them with the world.

3 thoughts on “Hello Ireland

  1. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

  2. Pingback: An Evening in Downtown Dublin « Katherine Iorio

Leave a Reply

